NEET-PG stipend and service bond, state by state (2025-26)
Stipend figures as of 2025-26, bond figures as of 2025. FindMyBranch is not a government body.
Stipend is the money you are paid every month during PG. You get it because, while you study, you also work in the hospital as a junior resident doctor.
A service bond is a promise you make when you take the seat: after PG, you work for the state government for a set time. If you do not, you pay a penalty (a sum of money).
Both change a lot from state to state. A good stipend helps you live during PG. A long bond or a big penalty can decide where you work after it. This page puts every state we have on record in one place: the stipend for 31 states and union territories (UTs), and the service bond for 25.
Jump to: stipend by state · DNB and private seats · service bond by state · states with no figure · sources
PG stipend by state
The amount is for a PG (MD/MS) seat at a government medical college in that state. Where you see three amounts, they are for year 1, year 2 and year 3 of PG. “L” means lakh (₹1 L = ₹1,00,000). Some states pay a salary that goes up with DA (dearness allowance, a raise the government gives to keep up with prices), so the amount changes each time DA changes; the note under the amount says so. Where an amount says “about”, it is an approximate figure. In the notes, G.O. means government order, HRA is house rent allowance, and “7th-CPC Level-10” is a central government pay level. “Gross” means before tax and other cuts.
| State / UT | Stipend per month |
|---|---|
| Andaman and Nicobar Islands Confirmed | ₹87,000 · ₹88,000 · ₹89,000 ANIIMS prospectus 2025-26; ₹4,000 a month hostel rent is deducted. |
| Andhra Pradesh Partly confirmed | ₹60,823 · ₹61,528 · ₹64,767 In force since 01-01-2024; the biennial revision due January 2026 was still unresolved in September 2026. |
| Assam Confirmed | ₹55,200 · ₹56,925 · ₹58,650 15% hike from 01-04-2024; the central institutes (LGBRIMH, BBCI) pay about ₹1.05–1.12 L. |
| Bihar Confirmed | ₹92,800 · ₹1,02,000 · ₹1,12,200 Revised from 01-01-2026 (was ₹82,000 · ₹90,200 · ₹99,220). |
| Chandigarh Partly confirmed | about ₹60,000–₹64,000 GMCH-32; follows the Punjab pattern. |
| Chhattisgarh Confirmed | ₹67,500 · ₹71,450 · ₹74,600 August 2023 revision. |
| Dadra and Nagar Haveli Confirmed | ₹43,000 · ₹45,000 · ₹47,000 NAMO MERI stipend notice. |
| Delhi (NCT) Partly confirmed | about ₹1.24 L (Delhi govt) to ₹1.34–1.42 L (central institutions) 7th-CPC Level-10 pay plus allowances, so it moves with DA; VMMC/Safdarjung, Lady Hardinge and RML are central-government institutions. |
| Goa Confirmed | ₹80,000 · ₹85,000 · ₹90,000 From 01-01-2026 (was ₹60,000 · ₹62,500 · ₹65,000), with a 5% annual increment. |
| Gujarat Confirmed | ₹1,00,800 · ₹1,02,480 · ₹1,05,000 25% hike effective 01-04-2024 (government and GMERS colleges). |
| Haryana Partly confirmed | ₹86,170 · ₹88,781 · ₹91,392 Notification of 09-08-2023; the rate paid now may be higher. |
| Himachal Pradesh Confirmed | ₹50,000 · ₹60,000 · ₹65,000 Cabinet decision of 20-07-2026. |
| Jammu and Kashmir Partly confirmed | ₹64,000 · ₹68,000 · ₹72,000 Government medical college rates; SKIMS pays about ₹80,000–₹90,000. |
| Jharkhand Partly confirmed | ₹54,500 · ₹58,500 · ₹63,500 No newer revision order on record as of September 2026; RIMS Ranchi pays more. |
| Karnataka Confirmed | ₹56,250 · ₹62,500 · ₹68,750 Medical Education Dept order of 23-08-2024, effective 01-08-2024. |
| Kerala Confirmed | ₹57,876 · ₹58,968 · ₹60,060 G.O.(Ms) No.141/2024/H&FWD of 04-07-2024, effective 01-07-2024. |
| Madhya Pradesh Confirmed | ₹77,662 · ₹80,050 · ₹82,441 Medical Education Dept order effective 01-04-2025. |
| Maharashtra Confirmed | ₹92,470 · ₹93,303 · ₹94,135 (gross) Grant MC / J.J. Hospital 2025 disclosure; a ₹10,000 hike from March 2024; moves with DA. |
| Manipur Partly confirmed | about ₹50,000–₹60,000 (JNIMS, state rate); about ₹1.10–1.16 L (RIMS Imphal, central institute) JNIMS follows the state rate (₹50,000 · ₹55,000 · ₹60,000 by year); RIMS Imphal is a central institute and pays about ₹1.10–1.16 L. Until 2026-10-08 every RIMS seat showed the JNIMS rate. |
| Meghalaya Confirmed | about ₹1.1 L (NEIGRIHMS, central Level-10 pay) NEIGRIHMS is a central institution; PG students draw junior-resident emoluments. |
| Mizoram Confirmed | ₹50,000 · ₹55,000 · ₹60,000 Zoram Medical College's published rate. |
| Odisha Confirmed | about ₹74,500 · ₹78,000 · ₹81,500 (DA-linked) 84% / 88% / 92% of (₹56,100 + DA), per SCB Medical College's 2025-26 disclosure. |
| Puducherry Confirmed | ₹43,000 · ₹45,000 · ₹47,000 G.O.Ms.No.28 of 21-06-2024 (IGMC&RI rate; private colleges must match it). |
| Punjab Confirmed | ₹76,000 · ₹77,000 · ₹78,000 Announced 24-07-2025; fixed emoluments, no DA. |
| Rajasthan Partly confirmed | ₹55,200 · ₹58,650 · ₹60,950 2021 order; no later revision located. |
| Tamil Nadu Confirmed | ₹54,025 · ₹55,149 · ₹56,275 DME 2025-26 disclosure; steps up about ₹1,000 a year under the 2018 G.O.; non-service candidates only. |
| Telangana Confirmed | ₹67,032 · ₹70,757 · ₹74,482 G.O.Ms.No.90 of 28-06-2025, effective 01-01-2025. |
| Tripura Partly confirmed | ₹48,000 · ₹49,000 · ₹51,000 2021 memorandum; the rate paid now may be higher. |
| Uttar Pradesh Partly confirmed | about ₹1.10–1.17 L (pay-scale linked) Paid as 7th-CPC Level-10 salary plus DA and HRA rather than a flat stipend, so it moves with DA. |
| Uttarakhand Partly confirmed | about ₹69,800–₹71,300 G.O. of 20-06-2022. |
| West Bengal Partly confirmed | about ₹58,000–₹66,000 (DA-linked) ₹10,000 hike from 01-04-2025 (Memo HF/O/MERT/250 of 21-03-2025) on a DA-indexed base. |
Confirmed means the figure is checked by us and holds. Partly confirmed means part of the figure is missing, we could not fully check it, or the order is old and a new one is expected.
DNB and private college seats
The table above shows the rate for government colleges. Two other kinds of seat are tied to it:
- DNB seats (at hospitals approved by NBEMS, the National Board of Examinations in Medical Sciences): NBEMS requires at least the state's rate in the table above or its own minimum (₹43,000–₹47,000 a month), whichever is higher.
- Private and deemed college seats: NMC rules require parity with the state's rate in the table above; what a college actually pays is in its own notice; ask the college. (NMC is the National Medical Commission. “Parity” means paying the same as the government rate.)
Service bond by state
On FindMyBranch we show a state’s service bond on seats at its government medical colleges only. Private and deemed colleges can have their own rules. “Cr” means crore (₹1 Cr = ₹100 L).
| State / UT | Years of service | Penalty |
|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh Confirmed | 1 year (government or rural service), within 18 months of getting the degree | ₹40 L |
| Assam Confirmed | up to 10 years total; at least 1 year must be served before opting out | ₹20 L (degree) · ₹15 L (diploma), plus ₹5–25 L if service is abandoned |
| Bihar Partly confirmed | 3 years | ₹25 L lump sum plus return of stipend |
| Chandigarh Confirmed | none after the course stated; a 3-year residency contract bond | ₹5 L if you leave the course within a year of the last admission date (certificates held back until paid) |
| Chhattisgarh Partly confirmed | 1 year | ₹50 L (UR) · ₹40 L (reserved); separately ₹25 L / ₹20 L for backing out of an allotted seat before joining |
| Delhi (NCT) Confirmed | 1 year (from 2025-26) | ₹20 L |
| Goa Confirmed | 1 year | ₹50 L, with a bank guarantee required at joining |
| Gujarat Confirmed | 1.5–2 years | ₹40 L (PG) · ₹50 L (super-speciality) |
| Haryana Partly confirmed | not stated | calculated as cost of education (about ₹25.7 L male / ₹23.2 L female), not a flat figure |
| Himachal Pradesh Confirmed | 2 years | ₹40 L |
| Jammu and Kashmir Partly confirmed | 2 years | ₹50 L · ₹25 L if you leave the course midway |
| Karnataka Confirmed | 1 year in a government hospital (Karnataka Compulsory Service Act 2012), and 3 years if the Government needs you | ₹50 L (degree) · ₹25 L (diploma) for not serving the 3 years |
| Kerala Confirmed | 1 year | ₹50 L plus repayment of stipend/training cost |
| Madhya Pradesh Confirmed | 1 year | ₹10 L (UR) · ₹5 L (SC/ST) |
| Maharashtra Confirmed | 1–2 years, rural/tribal posting | ₹40–50 L |
| Meghalaya Partly confirmed | not stated | ₹10 L / ₹15 L / ₹20 L, escalating by the year of service abandoned |
| Odisha Confirmed | 2 years | ₹10 L discontinuation bond plus return of double the stipend received over 3 years |
| Punjab Partly confirmed | not stated | ₹20 L surety bond backed by two property sureties |
| Rajasthan Confirmed | 2 years | ₹25 L baseline; a 2025 order raised it to as much as ₹1.5 Cr for General Medicine, OBG, Radiodiagnosis and Dermatology |
| Tamil Nadu Confirmed | 2 years, to be completed within 3 years of finishing PG | ₹40 L (MD/MS) · ₹20 L (Diploma) |
| Telangana Confirmed | 1 year in government institutions, if the Government needs you | ₹20 L (degree) · ₹10 L (diploma) |
| Tripura Confirmed | 3 years (degree) · 2 years (diploma) | ₹50 L (clinical) · ₹35 L (pre/para-clinical) · ₹15 L (diploma) |
| Uttar Pradesh Confirmed | 2 years | ₹40 L (MD/MS/DNB) · ₹20 L (PG Diploma) |
| Uttarakhand Partly confirmed | 2 years, in a hill or remote-area posting | up to ₹2.5 Cr, depending on specialty and posting |
| West Bengal Confirmed | 3 years (MD/MS) · 2 years (Diploma) | ₹30 L MD/MS (₹10 L per defaulted year) · ₹20 L Diploma |
Confirmed means we checked the rule and it holds. For most states we have not read the government order itself, so read it before you sign anything. Partly confirmed means part of the rule is missing, we could not fully check it, or the rule may not be final.
More about some states:
- Andhra Pradesh: In-service candidates serve 10 years (₹50 L). Management Quota seats carry no service bond, only a ₹3 L bond to finish the course.
- Bihar: Set by a 2025 order; it may since have been cut to 2 years. Check the current order before you join.
- Chandigarh: GMCH-32 MD/MS prospectus 2025 (PG-7, PG-11): each junior resident signs a 3-year contract bond for the course itself; the prospectus states no service period after it.
- Chhattisgarh: Cut from 2 years by a 2025 relaxation.
- Gujarat: Check the state's latest order; bond rules can change.
- Jammu and Kashmir: The state was finalising this bond in 2025; check the current order before you join.
- Karnataka: The 1-year service applies to every KEA seat, government or private college, any quota; your registration stays temporary until it is done.
- Kerala: In-service candidates owe up to 10 years including 2 years rural.
- Madhya Pradesh: A separate ₹30 L penalty applies for abandoning the service midway.
- Maharashtra: Check the state's latest order; bond rules can change.
- Punjab: This is the MBBS bond; the PG figure may differ.
- Tamil Nadu: In-service candidates: serve till superannuation, or 5 years if fewer than 5 remain.
- Telangana: Separately, every PG student signs a ₹50 L bond to finish the course, and leaving after the free-exit date costs ₹50 L and 3 years' debarment from KNRUHS PG counselling. In-service candidates are excluded from the service bond.
- West Bengal: A separate ₹5 L discontinuation bond applies if a seat is left after Round 2.
A college’s own bond. Some colleges ask for their own bond, apart from any state rule. The one we have on record:
- Datta Meghe Medical College Wanadongri, Nagpur, Datta Meghe Medical College: 1 year at the university; penalty the ₹5 L deposit taken at admission. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), DMIHER (DU) Registrar's Revised Notification No. 47 of 2026 dated 16/09/2026, 'Fee Structure for the Academic Year 2026-27' (PG course fees, Faculty of Medicine, JNMC and DMMC). dmiher.edu.in now redirects to aiher.edu.in..)
- Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Sawangi (Meghe), Wardha: 1 year at the university; penalty the ₹5 L deposit taken at admission. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), dmiher.edu.in (Datta Meghe Institute of Higher Education & Research) - JNMC fee structure for MD/MS admission, academic year 2024-25 (dated 01.10.2024).)
- M.M. Institute of Medical Sciences and Research (MMIMSR): 1 year of Senior Residency at the college; penalty ₹10 L. The college's own bond, separate from any state rule. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), MMIMSR 2025-26 admission PDF.)
- MGM Medical College, Aurangabad: 1 year as Senior Resident or Tutor at an MGM medical college; penalty ₹25 L. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), mgmmcha.org admissions page: 'Updated PG (MD & MS) Admission Procedure 2025-26' (seats and tuition per subject) and 'PG (MD & MS) Fees Structure & DD Details 2025-26' (https://www.mgmmcha.org/documents/4.%20PG%20(MD%20&%20MS)%20Fees%20Structure%20&%20DD%20Details%202025-26.pdf).)
- MGM Medical College, Navi Mumbai: 1 year as Senior Resident or Tutor at an MGM medical college; penalty ₹25 L. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), MGM Institute of Health Sciences Notification No. AC-112/2025 (04/12/2025), Annexure-01 'MD/MS Programs tuition fee Structure (per year) for the AY 2025-26'; the same table is on mgmmcnm.edu.in/admision.)
- Symbiosis Medical College for Women, Lavale, Mulshi: 1 year as Senior Resident (3 years for scholarship students); penalty ₹10 L. (Source: the college's own published PG fee document (read directly), Symbiosis Medical College for Women: 'Approved Fee Structure for the 1st year of PG Batch 2025-2028' (PG-FEES.pdf, linked from smcw.edu.in/post-graduate-admissions, Fees tab; same table in that page's FAQ 'Fee Structure for Academic Year 2025-26').)
States and UTs with no figure on record
No stipend figure yet: Arunachal Pradesh, Ladakh, Nagaland and Sikkim.
No service bond figure yet: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Jharkhand, Ladakh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry and Sikkim.
This does not mean there is no stipend or no bond there. It means we have not found a figure we can show yet. Ask the state’s medical education department or the college.
Where these figures come from
Stipend (as of 2025-26): State government stipend orders and colleges' NMC stipend disclosures (compiled 2026-09-19). We read the order itself for Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry, Andaman and Dadra & Nagar Haveli; check your state's latest order before you rely on the figure..
Service bond (as of 2025): State government bond orders and counselling brochures, 2025 (compiled 2026-09-18). For most states we have not read the order itself, so check your state's latest order before you rely on the figure..
States change these rules often, sometimes in the middle of a counselling season. Always check your state’s latest order before you choose, join or leave a seat. If anything here and the official order disagree, the order wins.
To see which colleges your rank could get, try the free NEET-PG college predictor. It is one part of FindMyBranch’s complete counselling help, and your full report shows the stipend and bond on each college where we have them on record.
Now see what your rank can actually get. FindMyBranch shows real closing ranks for your category and quota from MCC All India and 29 state counsellings, round by round.
Check my options